Riedesel, Frye Take 2016 Antelope Island Crowns


By Ryan Barrett — The Antelope Island Classic was held on Saturday May 7, 2016 a beautiful day for bike racing at one of our most popular venues. The Pro-Category 1-3 Men’s Event was won by a super aggressive Tyler Riedesel (Canyon Bicycles). Riedesel was active in breakways throughout the event and refused to submit after being caught. At the end of the 73 mile event, he held on for a beautiful solo victory. Brent Cannon (Team Elevate) attacked the field in the last few miles to take second with Joe Waters (Canyon Bicycles) taking the uphill group sprint for 3rd.

The Antelope Island Road Race, held on Saturday, May 7, 2016, is incredibly scenic.

The Women’s Pro-1-3 43 mile event was less controlled with Alison Frye (Ski City Cycling) taking a commanding win by more than three minutes. Her Ski City team mate Laura Patten lead the next group home in front of Kelly Hunsaker (Plan7 DS).

Abraham Torres wins the men’s 3-4 event at the Antelope Island Road Race, Saturday, May 7, 2016.

In the Men’s 3-4 field, young rider Abraham Torres notched the win in a bunch finish.

Antelope Island also served as our junior state championships. Viggo Moore (FFKR Architects) and Kayleigh Maloney (BYRDS) won the 10-12 year old championships. In the 13-14’s, it was Moses Maloney (BYRDS) taking the win in front of Utah State Champion Jack Shuckra (FFKR Architects). Garrison Asper (FFKR Architects) won the men’s 15-16 race with Makayla Prince taking out the women’s 15-16 titles. Cole Warner (FFKR Architects) and Alison Craig (Salt Cycle-Intellitechs) won their respective 17-18 events.


(Visited 175 times, 1 visits today)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here